List of National Schools in Kenya Per County in their Clusters

This post presents the newly updated list of all the National Schools in Kenya categorized in the four different clusters. Apart from the list, we explain how the clustering of the national schools occurred. Lastly, we outline how candidates in the Kenya Certificate of Primary Education, KCPE, can apply and join these schools.

How the Kenyan National Schools are Clustered
Clustering has been done based on the human resources and infrastructure found in these national schools. Infrastructure determines the population of students that the institutions can contain. The conditions for students for learning are better as a result and performances in national schools go along the same path.

KCPE Candidates choose one school from each cluster. The third cluster contains the best national schools in Kenya. Most of these have already been on the original list of top 17 National Schools in Kenya, and these schools have existed for over 30 years.

With that brief introduction, let’s dive into the list of our National Schools in the republic.

Updated List of All National School in Kenya according to clusters

Cluster 1 National Schools 2020 -2021 New Updated List

Asumbi Girls High School – Homabay County
Bunyore Girls High School – Vihiga County
Bura Girls High School – Taita Taveta County
Chogoria Girls High School -Tharaka Nithi County
Friends School Kamusinga – Bungoma County
Garissa High School – Garissa County
Kagumo Boys High School – Kirinyaga County
Kakamega High School – Kakamega County
Kanga High School – Migori County
Kapsabet Boys High School – Nandi County
Karima Girls Secondary – Nyandarua County
Kenyatta High School – Taita Taveta County
Kipsigis Girls High School – Kericho County
Kisii High School – Kisii County
Lugulu Girls High School – Bungoma County
Machakos Boys High School – Machakos County
Makueni Boys High School – Makueni County
Mama Ngina Secondary School – Mombasa County
Maranda High – Siaya County
Meru School – Meru County
Moi Girls Isinya High School – Kajiado County
Moi Mbiruri High School – Embu County
Murang’a High – Murang’a County
Muthale Girls High School – Kitui County
Nyabururu Girls High School – Kisii County
Pangani Girls High School – Nairobi County
Ribe Boys High School – Kilifi County
St Brigids Girls High School – Kakamega County
St Patricks Iten High School – Elgeyo Marakwet County
Tartar Girls High School – West Pokot County

Cluster 2 National Schools 2020 -2021 New Updated List

Bahari Girls Secondary School – Kilifi County
Chewoyet Boys High School – West Pokot County
Garbatula Boys Secondary School – Isiolo County
Hola Boys Secondary School – Tana River County
Kabianga Boys Secondary School – Kericho County
Kathiani Girls Secondary School – Machakos County
Kisima Girls Secondary School – Samburu County
Lamu Girls Secondary School – Lamu County
Mandera Boys Secondary School – Mandera County
Mbooni Girls Secondary School – Machakos County
Moi Girls Mandera Secondary School – Mandera County
Moi Girls Nyabohanse Secondary School – Migori County
Moyale Boys Secondary School – Marsabit County
Mpeketoni Boys Secondary School – Lamu County
Nanyuki Boys High School – Laikipia County
Ngao Girls Secondary School – Tana River County
Nyandarua High School – Nyandarua County
Oolaiser Boys Secondary School – Kajiado County
Sa Kolanya Girls Secondary School – Busia County
Sironga Girls Secondary School – Nyamira County
St. Joseph Chepterit Girls Secondary School – Nandi County
Tenwek Boys Secondary School – Bomet County
Turkana Girls Secondary School – Turkana County
Wajir Boys High School – Wajir County
Wajir Girls Secondary School – Wajir County
Ngiya Girls High School – Siaya County
Moi High School Kabarak – Nakuru County
Segero Adventist High School – Uasin Gishu County

Cluster 3 National Schools 2020 -2021 New Updated List

Alliance Girls High School – Kiambu County
Alliance High School – Kiambu County
Kenya High School – Nairobi County
Lenana School – Nairobi County
Limuru Girls High School– Kiambu County
Loreto Limuru High School – Kiambu County
Mangu High School – Kiambu County
Maryhills Girls Secondary School – Kiambu County
Maseno School – Kisumu County
Moi Forces Academy – Nairobi County
Moi Forces Lanet High School – Nakuru County
Moi Girls High School – Uasin Gishu County
Nairobi School – Nairobi County
Nakuru Boys High School – Nakuru County
Nakuru Girls High School – Nakuru County
Starehe Boys Centre – Nairobi County
Starehe Girls – Nairobi County
Utumishi – Nakuru County

Cluster 4 National Schools 2020 -2021 New Updated List

Baricho Boys High School – Kirinyaga County
Baringo High High School – Baringo County
Bishop Gatimu Ngandu High School – Nyeri County
Butere Girls High School – Kakamega County
Butula Boys High School – Bungoma County
Chavakali High School – Vihiga County
Ikuu Boys High School – Tharaka Nithi County
Isiolo Girls High School – Isiolo County
Kabare Girls Secondary School – Kirinyaga County
Kaplong Girls High School -Bomet County
Kilgoris Boys High School – Narok County
Kisumu Girls High School – Kisumu County
Kitui High School – Kitui County
Kwale High School – Kwale County
Lodwar High School – Turkana County
Maralal High School – Samburu County
Matuga Girls High School – Kwale County
Mbita High School – Homabay County
Moi Girls High School – Marsabit County
Moi Kapsowar High School – Uasin Gishu County
Mugoiri Girls High School – Murang’a County
NEP Girls High School – Garissa County
Njonjo High School – Laikipia County
Ole Tipis Girls High School – Narok County
Shimo La Tewa High School – Mombasa County
Siakago Girls High School – Embu County
St. Joseph Boys High School – Uasin Gishu County
St. Marys Girls High School – Meru County
How KCPE Candidates Can Join the Above National Schools
The top three candidates are given first priority to join national schools and are selected across all sub-counties. The remaining two are selected based on candidature strength. The rest of the candidates in every sub-county are selected based on candidature strength between public and private schools according to the provided guidelines. No candidate can select any two of the 18 schools, as they are considered more prestigious than the recently gazetted. They are all in the third cluster.

There you have it, the newly updated list of all Extra County Schools in Kenya in 2020/2021, across all the 47 Counties, with their School Codes, and Gender.

For any updates or errors noted on the above list of National Schools in Kenya, kindly contact our online desk with the details.

Download Free Materials


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here