TSC Publishes 18 new hardship areas and their corresponding allowances

The Teacher’s service commission updates hardship areas regularly. The commission maps various areas while considering different factors. This areas also include the arid and semi-arid places that are usually affected by famine and/or terrorism. Teachers posted in these areas are paid a monthly hardship allowance that acts as a motivating factor since they face life threatening conditions that range from poor working environment to health threats.

However, the Commission recently excluded Nyandarua county, Muranga county, Kandara sub-county, Kigumo sub-county, and Nyahururu from hardship areas due to improved infrastructure. Therefore, teachers posted in these areas will no longer get a monthly hardship allowance.

Related articles;

TSC Revised Teacher allowances per Job group

List of TSC Teacher Allowances 2021

List of all Allowances Paid to Teachers per Job group

TSC listed and approved a total of 38 hardship areas in 2012.

Some of the factors considered are:

  1. Limited services and social amenities
  2. High level of insecurity and/or probability to security threats.
  3. Harsh climate conditions such as floods, drought.
  4. Lack of sufficient food.
  5. Inadequate means of transport and communication networks.

Below is a list of counties that have been listed under hardship areas;

  1. Mandera County
  2. Turkana County
  3. SamburU County
  4. Wajir County
  5. West Pokot County
  6. Narok County
  7. Garissa County
  8. Marsabit County
  9. Isiolo County
  10. Tana River County
  11. Lamu County
  12. Kilifi County
  13. Kwale County
  14. Taita Taveta County

Recently, the commission added 4 new hardship areas due to the Collective Bargaining Agreement.

The added counties include,

  1. Baringo North. The areas include;

Tiaty East, Tiaty West and Marigat sub-counties.

  1. Kajiado county- loitoktok, mashuuru and Kajiado west
  2. Kitui County- Mumoni, Mutito North and Teikuru sub-counties
  3. Homa baycounty- suba and Mbita sub counties



The hardship allowance is paid at a flat rate. In 2014, the Salaries and Remuneration Commission reviewed hardship allowances and abolished the percentage of basic pay.



The table below shows TSC hardship allowance per job group





B5 5 6,600
C1 6 8,200
C2 7 10,900
C3 8 12,300
C4 9 14,650
C5 10 17,100
D1 11 27,300
D2 12 27,200
D3 13 31,500
D4 14 31,500
D5 15 38,100


NOTE: Not all schools in the above listed counties are captured by the Teachers Service Commission as Hardship centers.

Download Free Materials


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here